Inspired Art: “Divine Praises, Divine Heart”

This is a visual story of how I attempted to calm my restlessness Saturday night. As an artistic and highly visual learner, I sometimes prefer (need) to pray this way.

Moleskine_Tools

DivinePraises_copyrightAngelaSealana

DivinePraisesHeart_copyrightAngelaSealana

DivinePraisesBlood_copyrightAngelaSealana

Whenever I see images of the Sacred Heart, I note how the Crown of Thorns looks picture-perfect. Last year, I took a morning “course” in some of what science has revealed about the Shroud of Turin’s image. The man pictured did wear a crown of thorns, but not the short rosebush thorns we’re used to seeing in Western art. Rather, it was more like a helmet, and made of a thorn bush native to the Jerusalem region with very long, thin, thorns.

Seeing a replica of that crown reminded me that the Sacred Heart of Our Lord is not picture-perfect as we might have it. Jesus knows about the mess of life. I’m glad.

SacredHeart_copyrightAngelaSealana

Thank you, Lord.

Images copyright Angela Sealana, 2014. All rights reserved.

2 comments

  1. Thank you. Have you considered designing a poster of the divine praises? I would love to have the divine praises hanging on the wall in my home.

Add to the Conversation:

