Heroic Priests: Who are yours?

My pal Brandon Vogt tipped me off to a new video / short film by his “hero-boss”, Fr.Robert Barron, called Heroic Priesthood. I’ve embedded it at the end of this post.

As I watched it, I couldn’t help but think of a few priests in particular.

One of them: Bishop Tom Flanagan, my jolly Irish pastor during the formative elementary years of my life. He gave an enormous smile and a bear hug to everyone after Mass, and he knew everyone‘s name. I first received absolution from Jesus through him in the Sacrament of Reconciliation, and he gave me Jesus himself in my First Holy Communion.

After he was ordained bishop, I found this card in the mail, hand-signed by His Excellency. Notice my name in the top corner. Who knows how many of these he sent out?

His episcopal motto: “For Christ we are ambassadors.” What a fine ambassador he’s been.

Bishop Tom 2

I could include a very long list of heroic priests in my life. Who have been the heroic priests in yours?

Add to the Conversation:

