Maybe ‘Doubting Thomas’ had PTSD…

On Thursday, I read the ‘Doubting Thomas’ Gospel and recognized the type of stubbornness Thomas had. When I read his protest,

Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands
and put my finger into the nailmarks
and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.

instead of the typical, “skeptical Thomas” voice, I heard the voice of a man who had lost a close friend to government torture and a humiliating, public execution brought on by his own religious leaders.

I heard a man whose voice was broken and quivering, whose nose was running, whose eyes were red.

For too long, I have removed St. Thomas from his emotional and psychological context. How would it have felt, to have suffered so much, and then been ‘left out’ when Jesus had appeared to all the other guys?

Perhaps the Lord wanted to show us, through St. Thomas’ touching of His wounds, that 1.) He offers His wounds to us all, and 2.) salvation does not magically erase wounds; it transforms them into something glorious.

Thank you, Thomas. Pray for us.

Icon in St. Raguel Ethiopian Orthodox Church, Entoto (Photo: Franciscan Mission Outreach)
Icon in St. Raguel Ethiopian Orthodox Church, Entoto (Photo: Franciscan Mission Outreach)
Add to the Conversation:

