What I Prefer to the Culture Wars

Yesterday, I was sitting with some folks — all Catholics, varied ages. This particular group tends to discuss all the ‘culture war’ news… Hobby Lobby, Chick-Fil-A, Obamacare, you name it. Our conversation took a turn.

“It’s a shame,” the older man bemoaned, “what’s happened to music and dance in this country.”

His brow wrinkled. Clearly, he was referring to hip hop.

Yeah, I thought… darn shame that was ever invented. It’s all bad news.

 

Thank God for hip hop.

4 comments

    • Hi, Steven. Thanks for reading.
      My point is that I prefer war about my own temptation to sin than fighting the larger, so-called ‘culture wars’. I guess it’s the micro approach rather than the macro. Hope that makes sense!

  1. Angela, I thought you were going to say Country Music. I listened to Collin Raye on Catholic Answers Live talking about how Country Music Today is different from the Industry of his time. https://soundcloud.com/cade_one/collin-raye-on-country-music-faith I found it very interesting. My Grandma was a very talented Blue-Grass Singer. She had a couple Records, opened for Hank Williams Jr. and Dolly Parton to name a few.

    On another note, some of Catholic’s Top Hip-Hop Artists Pray the Rosary. Definitely check it out! https://soundcloud.com/john-davidson-iv/rosary-joyful-dy-jl-ks

Add to the Conversation:

