3 Tips for a Better Prayer Life + Hear Pope Francis’ Voicemail + Take HEART!

Is one of your New Year’s Resolutions to pray more / better? (Or mo’ betta?)

That’s nice. I don’t make any formal resolutions – probably because of a deep-seated fear of failure – but I am quite good at figuring out what I’m not doing very well. One of those is prayer.

One of my favorite blogs to follow is Roman Catholic Spiritual Direction. Their head-honchos have created great, short YouTube videos to help answer common questions, especially about prayer.

Here’s “How can I improve my prayer life?”

Summary:

1. Decide to pray daily.

2. Understand the different modes of prayer.

3. Structure your prayer time; give yourself a roadmap for daily prayer.

Yeah, I’m failing on some of that. For one thing, I’m impatient with myself. On another point, I’ve had some pretty hefty interior healing and prayer experiences in the past year, so when prayer time becomes routine and predictable, I can easily get bored or feel disappointed that my prayer insights weren’t life-changing or earth-shattering. (Sounds horrible, I know…)

We all have our struggles. If you’re wrestling with your own prayer life, let’s be encouraged that we’re not alone in the fight. Let’s continue seeking the strength to journey onward. Onward!

The sky is filled with good and bad that mortals never know…

Tired eyes on the sunrise, waiting for the eastern glow…

Sing as you raise your bow. Shoot straighter than before…

P.S. If you’re busy praying, be forewarned that Pope Francis might try calling you. No sweat — he’ll just leave you a voicemail that you can share with the world. AND he’ll call back later.

Add to the Conversation:

