Saints Who Inspire Me (Who Inspires You?)

I’m at the point in my life when I kind of just wait to see what saintly intercession will do for me next. Saints are like big brothers and sisters — barging into my life in unexpected ways, to protect or help or give guidance. Other times they are quiet but dependable friends. They never leave me hanging; I know they will always pray for me when I ask.

Some saints who have inspired me:

Pope Paul VI and Karol Wojtyla (Pope John Paul II)
Venerable Pope Paul VI and Karol Wojtyla (Blessed Pope John Paul II)

Paul VI’s Evangelii Nuntiandi laid the foundation of my life as an evangelist, and I constantly fall back on his teachings. John Paul II’s charisma and spiritual fatherhood laid the foundation for my life as a Catholic — of the ‘JP2 Generation.’

Blessed Giacomo Alberione
Blessed Giacomo Alberione

Fr. James Alberione’s pioneering in modern Catholic media and foundation of the Pauline family was a major influence on me in college as I discerned my vocation. His words provide me with a constant challenge to aim higher in my media endeavors.

St. Thèrése of the Child Jesus and the Holy Face
St. Thérèse of the Child Jesus and the Holy Face

St. Thérèse of Lisieux snuck into my life this year and gave my spirituality a ‘face-lift’ by teaching me what it means to have the ‘vocation to love’. She has schooled me in God’s Mercy, gently answering a prayer I have prayed for years: “God, teach me to trust you more.” Therese has become my big sister. I owe her a great debt. If I ever (please God) make it to Heaven, one of the ‘first’ things I’ll do is run to hug her.

"Penitent Magdalene" by El Greco, c. 1590
“Penitent Magdalene” by El Greco, c. 1590

St. Mary Magdalene has made her patronage of me and my husband clear for the past few years. This year, though, she has taught me about hope. For so long, she was a woman rejected, dejected, sinful and desperate. She experienced conversion – yes – but what’s more, she was given the task of proclaiming the most joyful news in human history, the Resurrection, and faced cynicism and doubt from the Apostles themselves. She is a model for all Christians.

 

St. Hildegard of Bingen
St. Hildegard of Bingen

In some ways, St. Hildegard of Bingen – now officially canonized, thanks to our German Shepherd BXVI – eludes me. (Most prophets and mystics do that to me.) But in other ways, I find St. Hildegard a model of fierce Christian womanhood. She was not just a prophet, mystic, and leader of her order, but also a pioneer in natural medicine and an accomplished composer. (Her music is beyond gorgeous; unlike anything I’d heard before. Listen to this.) During her lifetime, she fought corruption, ambition and sexism. What an inspiration.

I would be remiss if I failed to mention Our Mother and St. Joseph. These are just a few of the saints who have inspired me particularly this year.

What about you? Who are some saints that have become special to you recently?

One comment

  1. I’ve found myself inspired since an early age by St. Maximilian Kolbe. I was drawn to his heroic self-sacrifice to save another. And more recently as I’ve become more involved in using media in my ministry, I’ve been inspired by his use of the media available to him in his day!

Add to the Conversation:

