Inspiring Words (Poems) by #InspiringWomen

"Santa Teresa col Bambino Ges" by Giovanni Battista Piranesi
“Santa Teresa col Bambino Ges” by Giovanni Battista Piranesi

This Sunday, #inspiringwomen was trending on Twitter, and that inspired me to share some poetry that has inspired me to become a better person (and a better woman).

“Still I Rise” by Maya Angelou

“Kindness” by Naomi Shihab Nye (read by Kim Rosen)

“I Won’t Take No for An Answer” by St. Catherine of Siena
(translated by Daniel Ladinsky)

“I won’t take no for an answer,”
God began to say
to me

when He opened His arms each night
wanting us to
dance.

“Not Yet Tickled” by St. Teresa of Avila
(translated by Daniel Ladinsky)

How did those priests ever get so serious
and preach all that
gloom?

I don’t think God
tickled them
yet.

Beloved—hurry.

Add to the Conversation:

