In which I compare Tony Parker’s Game 1 shot to the Sacred Heart

Why yes, I am about to compare a clutch shot in Game 1 of the NBA Finals to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. If you are offended by that idea, feel free to go away. Disclaimer: I am a Spurs fan, but I do not think Tony Parker is God.

Last night, San Antonio Spurs’ point guard Tony Parker made an impossible shot with .1 second on the shot clock, and clinched the win for our team:

Watching the s-l-o-o-o-w replay is reminiscent of my reflections on God’s action in my life. Don’t you ever think back and say, “God’s timing was so perfect…how did He do that”??

Several months ago, I was spiritually frustrated. My relationship with Jesus wasn’t as strong it had once been. While visiting my local library, I happened upon a book called, Consoling the Heart of Jesus by Fr. Michael Gaitley, MIC. My initial thought was, “This sounds way too deep for me,” but something encouraged me to try it out.

Well, that book pretty much changed my life.

A short time later, I happened upon a book called, My Peace I Give You: Healing Sexual Wounds with the Help of the Saints by Dawn Eden. (You can read my thoughts about it here.) Dawn’s book awakened in me a sleeping, fire-breathing monster from my past that I hadn’t confronted. Since then, I’ve been battling this monster—to the death.

Throughout this process of renewal in my life, the constant thread has been Jesus’ Heart. I have begun healing because Christ first showed me His wounded Heart, and that gave me the courage to examine the brokenness of my own heart.

Spiritually, I’ve oftentimes felt something like fans did last night: staring at the shot clock, staring at God, agonizing…”WHEN IS HE GONNA THROW UP THE BALL??” And then, when it seems like time has run out and hope has faded, God makes amazing things happen.

Commenting on the Spurs’ opponents in last night’s game, Magic Johnson said, “When you’re supposed to lose, you’re supposed to lose. The Spurs were supposed to win this game.” Thankfully, in the spiritual life, we know that Victory has already been won by our God. The Sacred Heart of Jesus has already clinched the Victory. Don’t ever forget that. Cling to His Heart.

“In the Heart of Christ, man’s heart learns to know the genuine and unique meaning of his life and of his destiny…” – Pope John Paul II

Add to the Conversation:

