The Sacred Heart: There Is No Lack of Wounds

Recently, I’ve been diving into the Sacred Heart of Jesus. I hope this excerpt from St. Bernard of Clairvaux’s 61st homily  on the Song of Songs will encourage you today, as it has encouraged me:

But as for me, whatever is lacking in my own resources I appropriate for myself from the heart of the Lord, which overflows with mercy. And there is no lack of clefts by which they are poured out. They pierced his hands and his feet, they gored his side with a lance, and through these fissures I can suck honey from the rock and oil from the flinty stone —I can taste and see that the Lord is good.

Add to the Conversation:

