Payable on Death – What Inspired Me to Surrender to Jesus

“I’m sheltered by your blood, your sweat, your tears.
Lord, you prayed for me…and you cried for me…and you died for me.
Identify your real master. Recognize and obey the sacrifice.”
Selah by P.O.D.

Eleven years ago, I decided to give my life to God. Today, for the first time in my life, I will see the reason why.

Eleven years ago, I was thirteen years old and listening to tattooed, pierced, dreadlocked rock bands. My parents did a beautiful job raising me in the Catholic faith, but I had yet to make the personal decision to hand over my will for God’s. I went to Mass with my family, and I knew that religion was important, but among classmates I spoke with a filthy mouth and contemplated whether my life was truly worth living. (The usual teenage angst…)

Eleven years ago, my dad took me to the local Family Christian Store, rewarding me with a CD for good grades. That day was different, though, because I walked up the stairs to the music section and suddenly saw this poster:

Immediately drawn, I sampled the music, loved it, and promptly handed the CD to the clerk.

These four tattooed, pierced, dreadlocked men shocked me. Everything about their music and – after reading interviews with them – their lives said: God is alive, and we know Him. He is the ultimate treasure to be sought, the unquenchable fire, and the greatest Master. Their album went multi-platinum internationally, and on every stage, they pointed to Christ as their reason for living.

This band’s unabashed witness led me to pray eleven years ago, “God, if this is what it means to serve you, then I want to. I want what they have.”

Today, I work full-time for the Catholic Church…yes, thanks to my parents, church, Catholic apologists, catechists…but also thanks to P.O.D. who finally pried open my heart to God’s light. This evening, my husband and I are going to see them in concert for the first time.

I won’t be surprised if tears are shed.

2 comments

Add to the Conversation: